Management Board

 members of the management board.

 Prof. Edwin O. Ataro - Chairman

 Prof. Edwin O. Ataro is a professor at Moi University. He has a PhD and master of Science in Electrical Communications     Engineering from Kassel-German and Bachelor of Technology, Electrical and Communications Engineering from Moi   University.


Prof. Timothy Waema – Member

Prof. Timothy Waema is a Professor of Information Systems in the School of Computing and Informatics in the University of Nairobi, Kenya. He has extensive experience as an ICT4D researcher and consultant with more than 25 years in various facets of ICTs and development.

Read More 


Dr. Mwirigi Kiula - Member

Mr. Mwirigi Kiula is the ICT Director, Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology (JKUAT). Until January 31, 2015, he was serving as the Deputy Director, Nairobi Industrial and Technology Park (NITP), a Kenya Vision 2030 flagship project.

Read More

Dr. Gerald W. Chege - Member

Dr. Gerald W. Chege is Assistant Professor of Information Systems and Technology at USIU. He was the Coordinator of Information Systems and Technology in USIU from 2002 to September 2006. He has over 15 years as a university lecturer and consulting experience.

Read More


    Mr. Solomon Mburu - Member

Mr. Solomon Mburu heads the ICT Department at Daystar University. Prior to his appointment at Daystar University, he was heading ICT at The Management University of Africa. He holds a BA (First Class Honours) degree from University of  Nairobi, and an MSc. in Information Systems specializing in Distributed Systems from the same University.


Mr. Christopher Moturi - Member

Christopher A Moturi is currently the Director, ICT Centre of the University of Nairobi. He is also the Deputy Management Representative for ISO. Prior to that, he was Deputy Director, School of Computing and Informatics, where he has worked since 1986. He has long experience in University Management that includes management of the ISO9001 Quality.

    Read More

Mr. Ian Moore – Member

Mr. Ian Moore leads a shared ICT service unit that manages and supports the business systems for 10 CGIAR Centres that carry out agricultural research around the world. He has spent over fifteen years in Kenya working for the World Agroforestry Centre (ICRAF) and the Institute of Livestock Research (ILRI).

Read More 

Mrs. Janegrace Kinyanjui - Member 

Mrs. Janegrace Kinyanjui is the University Librarian at Egerton University; she held a similar position at Kabarak University. She holds a Diploma in Human Resource Management from Kenya Institute of Management, Master of Science in Information Science from School of Information Studies for Africa (SISA) Addis Ababa, and a Bachelor of Arts from Egerton University.

Read More 

Prof. Alice Mutungi - Member

Prof. Alice Mutungi  is the Dean, School of Medicine and Health Sciences (SMHS), Kenya Methodist University (KeMU). She is the immediate former DVC Finance and Administration and Founding Dean of the SMHS at KeMU where she spearheaded the launch of the first Bachelor of Medicine & Bachelor of Surgery (MBCHB) programme in a private university in Kenya.

Read More

Prof. Meoli Kashorda - Secretary

Prof. Meoli Kashorda is the Executive Director of Kenya Education Network, the Research and Education Network of Kenya ( and a Professor of Information Systems at the United States International University - Africa, in Nairobi, Kenya (

Read More

KENET Management Board 2017/2018

  1. Prof. Ediwn Ataro - Chairman (Founder representative) , Moi University
  2. Prof Tim Waema – Chairman & Public Universities Faculty Representative, University of Nairobi
  3. Mr. Solomon Mburu - Member (Founder representative), Daystar University
  4. Mr. Mwirigi Kiula - Member (Founder representative), Jomo Kenyatta University of Agriculture and Technology
  5. Mr. Christopher Moturi - Member (Founder representative), University of Nairobi
  6. Dr. Gerald Chege – Member (Founder representative), United States International University
  7. Mr. Ian Moore - Member (Research institutes representative), CGIAR, ILRI
  8. Mrs. Janegrace Kinyanjui - Member (Professional representative), Egerton University
  9. Prof. Alice Mutungi - Member (Senior faculty, private univerties representative), Kenya Methodist University
  10. Prof. Meoli Kashorda - Secretary and Executive Director, Kenya Education Network